Duke graduates can use their NetID and email for one year after graduation. After that year, your account will be deleted. Follow the steps below to ease the transition.
Most email clients (Outlook, Eudora, etc.) allow you to set up a POP account that downloads your email from the Duke mail servers onto your local computer. To set up the POP account, visit this page and locate the setup instructions for your email client. You must change the instructions as shown below:
If your mail client setup is not listed, please contact the OIT Help Desk at (919) 684-2200.
The Duke University Alumni Association offers a free lifetime forwarding email address to all Duke alumni. The address (yourname@alumni.duke.edu) can be given to family, friends and associates to highlight your continuing affiliation with Duke University. This is not an actual account, so you will not check an alumni.duke.edu inbox. It only forwards email to an account you have set up elsewhere (Hotmail, Yahoo, AOL, etc.).
Please visit the following website to register for your alumni forwarding address: http://www.dukealumni.com.
Prior to your Duke account being closed, you may want to forward all email addressed to your Duke account to another account you have set up elsewhere. Forwarding will last only as long as your Duke account remains active, but it will limit the amount of email coming to your Duke inbox that will need to be moved before the account closes. (Forwarding does not apply to email already in your Duke account inbox.)
To forward your Duke account email to another address, visit Online@Duke and look under E-Mail Services.
Prior to your Duke account being closed, you may want to create an auto-reply (vacation) message notifying people who send you email that you have a new address. This will last only as long as your Duke account remains active, but it helps make people aware of your new email address.
To create an auto-reply (vacation) message, visit Online@Duke and look under E-mail Services.
We will automatically close your Duke account one month after we notify you, by email, that your account is about to be closed. You don't have to do anything.